Green tomato chutney

Green tomatoes? Chutney? I know! Exactly my thoughts. But after two years of growing tomatoes at the allotment and ending up with a big batch of green tomatoes, you have to become creative, so why not green tomato chutney? It’s delicious with some cheese crackers and perfect to eat this time of the year.

dsc02802

The recipe I used was a mix of other recipes I found online and after reading so many I kind of followed a bit of all of them. If anything, my recipe will give you tips about what works or doesn’t.

Ingredients

2 kg green tomatoes

450gr onions

450gr sultana

450gr apples(We had loads of apples from the allotment and had chopped and froze previously)

450gr muscovado sugar( I used a mix of muscovado and brown sugar)

1 l malt vinegar

salt

dsc02803

I made the chutney twice. First time I had 2 kg of tomatoes  but the second time I only had  1 1/2 kg of tomatoes so I  adjusted the quantities of all the other ingredients accordingly.

How to make it

Chop the tomatoes and apples in small cubes, then slice the onions finely. Mix the tomatoes and onions, add the salt and leave either overnight or about two hours- I tried both and they worked fine. This step is for draining the excess water from the tomatoes.

dsc02804

Next step is to put the vinegar and sugar in a big pan and slowly bring to boil, stirring the sugar to dissolve it. Add the apples and sultanas, stir for 10 minutes. Strain but do not rinse the tomatoes and onions and add to the pan. Bring to boil and then let it simmer, stirring occasionally. I can’t give you a precise time, I knew it was ready when the mixture thickened, I would say about two hours.

How to preserve

Wash and heat the jars and the lids in the oven for 40 minutes on low heat.

Once cooled, fill them with the chutney and make them look pretty.

img_1813

It’s quite easy to make, you really can’t go wrong with it, just be prepared for the strong smell of the vinegar. It’s worth it in the end. The taste is a delicious mix of sweet and tangy and the personal satisfaction of eating a homemade chutney  with organic vegetables that we grew made it even tastier.

dsc02827

Last year we gifted a jar of chutney at Christmas to all of our families, this year we have a different surprise. Just wait for it!

Leave a Reply

